Skydiving - Reisverslag uit Las Vegas, Verenigde Staten van Joost Overbeek - WaarBenJij.nu Skydiving - Reisverslag uit Las Vegas, Verenigde Staten van Joost Overbeek - WaarBenJij.nu

Skydiving

Door: Joost

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joost

13 Augustus 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Las Vegas

Long day, long entry, be warned; Morning, way too early... But it was skydiving day, so we were far from sleepy! After a quick drive we arrived at the Skydive Las Vegas en we had to get checked in. Always fun in the States, as you have to agree that you can die, break every bone in your body or be scarred for the rest of your life, and that is your own friggin' problem, HA!:) Okay, maybe they didn't put it exactly that way, but still, it captures the idea! But anyway, everything went really fast; Got my safety briefing, my suit on, met my instructor David, got asked several times, on camera, if I was ready (I litterally had no idea), got on the plane, lift off, great view and jumping altitude. Let me tell you; either it isn't as scary as you expect it to be, or you just do not realize it. I just felt excited, got some butterflies when I looked down halfway and thought it wasn't high enough (which it wasn't so that was quite great) but the complete time I felt really excited! Then came the jump; it was quite different from what I expected. You didn't sit for like half a minute, "look we will be landing over there, you ready, bladiebla" Oh hell no, it was; shove, sit, skydive (these three happened withing 5/10 seconds, depending how far you were from the hatch. So when the first girl went from sitting comfortably to plummeting towards earth withing 3 seconds my head just didn't respond anymore; it just went, ah, okay, skydiving, derp. So before I knew it I was sitting on the edge, had to hold my head back and we went, leap of faith. What an experience, the first couple of seconds, you really speed up, which includes the butterflies you get when you go in a fast rolllercoaster, and then it evens out and you are in controlled free fall. It is indescribable, the mixture between despair, trust, fright, happiness and adrenaline just gives you an overload. The only thing you do is scream, not out of fright or anything else, you just scream, scream like Icarus as he touches the sun without his wings burning down! Then the parachute deploys and you thing your done falling, that there's just hanging around by a piece of reinforced plastic! Well as it turns out, I was wrong!:D As I made the comment; "I thought rollercoaster were awesome, but this is something else..." before he even finished saying; "So, you like rollercoasers?" David yanked hard right. I thought the feeling you got by falling the first few meters from the plane was sick, but this surpassed that easily. The force of the parachute dragging you towards the earth in a controlled spiral, kind of came as a surprise, which made it even intenser. After me steering; I thought keep it slow, David thought not, before I knew it another plummet of death. But before I knew it I was on the ground, after a beautiful landing, still a bit in shock, very much awake and really glad I did it! The rest of the day was pretty generic, got some groceries, went back to Circus Circus for the rollercoaster in there, went (strip)clubbing (got a sweet deal by a guy in the street, so cheap and well, it was Vegas, we had to visit one), checked in to our new hotel, which happened to be the Marquee suite in MGM. Okay I got to stop for a bit, because MGM needs a mention. After we had stayed at Circus Circus, this was kind of a large contrast. Starting with the walk, to get from the parking lot to the lobby was about 10 minutes, which was about halfway. The lobby was a sight though, it just looked exactly like a lobby in which people stayed who made as much money I make a year, in a week. So that was a great start, which kept going on at every corner, at the elevator, everywhere, just classy! But then we saw the hallway... I hated that hallway so much, it was literally 100 meters (300 ft) long and we had to walk it a lot, I hated is so much. But then the room... Exactly as we expected it to be (no pooltable though, we had to choose between a view an the table and we sucked at pool anyway), marble everywhere, televisions everywhere, just everything classy everywhere, enormous beds, enormous couches, just perfect. So after setting up our alcohol (the whole kitchen counter was stocked), Vegas could start for real!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Las Vegas

Joost

Eerste reis buiten Europa, op naar Amerika!

Actief sinds 16 Nov. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 164
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8916

Voorgaande reizen:

16 November 2015 - 31 December 2015

Mijn eerste reis

07 Juli 2014 - 18 Augustus 2014

The United States!

Landen bezocht: